Ijuswannachill

Award Tour [stop 1]

The first stop on the soon to be infamous Award Tour is in Cali. As far as the west coast goes, I can dig a few underground artists, most notably Lootpack. If you’ve been checkin out Ijuswannachill for a while now (back on blogspot.com) you would know that Soundpieces; Da Antidote is one of my favortie albums. A couple other acts that come to mind are Dilated Peoples and Del. However, for the most part I really was never into the left too much aside from some select songs/emcees here and there. Snoop, Game, NWA,…all have some good songs or good moments but never caught my attention enough to a point where I would want their box set.

That being said, I was kinda stunned myself when I realized how fast the year went by and I still considered The best album of 2008, according to yours truly, is a product of a Californian duo. Now, I actually got the “album” Jan 4 2008 so I’m assuming it was released prior to the begining of this year, but dont be a bitch. The reason the word album is in quotes is because appearantly its not even an official album. It is “the album before the album”. Its a sad day in hiphop when arguably the best album of the year isn’t even a real album.

Here is what I’m talkin about, of course…

Look at those dorks, right? As Tunji, half of Inverse, says: “they try to judge cuz we dont look like eachother, but read a page before you judge a book by its cover”

Download Inverse “So Far (the collection)”

1. So Far: No intro! Straight to rappin! Always a huge plus! The stings hype up the begining of this song and lead into a fuckin killer piano that really keeps you on the edge of your seat. As soon as you hear the piano come in you know you got a classic album on your hands. and the intensity keeps building…..and the drum kick comes in…..and the break…..and BLAST OFF!!!! haha. The beat kicks in and you are introduced to “Tunji” and “Tobe” as “Inverse”. Then the hook which sets the mood of the entire album; “This is who we are”. Tunji kicks off the first verse of the album, killin it. Tobe does the 2nd verse, and although he matches intensity, passion, and lyrical ability, his flow is a bit lacking compared to Tunji. Great song for track one and you really get a feel of what you are in for.

2. Remember The Name: A very different mood to this song than track 1, and even the rest of the album for the most part. Very mellow and spacey…more typical west coast feel here.  Still, it all comes together really well thanks to a nice simple chorus to compliment the beat, and Tobe kicks it off with a nice verse shedding light on how he came to be who he is today. He appologizes in advance for his imperfections you will learn of, saying “pull a chair up close and let the show start, pull the curtains apart, and pardon all the faux pas”. After the chorus, Tunji does his thing, speaking more on society than his personal life. I’d say this is one song where Tobe actually shines brightest. Favorite line: “I got a gift for writin words, its just a part of my truth, we realized we love this music so we started a group” ~Tunji “often watched the others, studied their plots in costumes, covers / til it got where I knew their thoughts before they thought em, forgot about my problems and learned from theirs” ~Tobe

3. Everything Is Beautiful: Some moments on this album can be kinda corny and gay. This song is one of those moments. That being said, the song is still super fresh. Both still come correct on the M-I and stick with the formula. The chorus (the corny gay part) is still catchy and hardly ruins the song. After two incredible tracks to start the album, this song acts as a nice break and gives you a chance to chill and catch your breath. Good song, dont skip it!

4. Spotlight: I really dont even know what to say here. Perfect song. The electric guitar sample and stuttering drum kicks make you wanna play football or somethin…its that hype. And somehow both members stick to their guns. They never reach for the sour grapes and rap about bitches or brawling or bein better than you, even if the beat wants them to. 10/10. Tunji goes b-a-n-a-n-a-s on his verse, but Tobe bleeds passion all over his time slot.

5. Til The End (C.A.L.I.): You’ll recognize this sample. I hate when I hear such similar beats (almost exact sample). This song is amazing though. I know I’m spreading myself thin here sayin every song is amazing, but I dont know what else to say. I take it one song at a time and say what I feel about each song individually.  Anyways, I’ve never been to Cali but this song makes me feel like I teleport there for 4 minutes at a time. At this point in the album you are gettin kinda worried that you arent gonna be able to include your 2 or 3 favorite tracks on your next mixtape cuz theyre all your favorite. My favorite line from one Tobe: “you gotta get high just to stay sober, tomorrow’s another name for a hangover”.

6. Constellation: Ehh…so far its the “worst” song on the album, but still not one that makes you wanna hit the skip button when it comes on. Not a bad song at all, just not quite up to par with the first 5 tracks. And if you’re listenin and thinkin this song has nothin to offer, go to the last verse and listen to Tunji rip it. When the fuck will he ever show any sign of laziness on a track? Dude is seriously becoming one of my favorite rappers.

7. I Believe: Another one of those corny/gay choruses (chori?). But the song fits in well on the album. And once again Tunji is the coolest cat in hiphop actin like hes just havin a conversation with you and just happens to rhyme. Fav line: “I’m still tryna scribble the outline, most people keep their dreams silent I shout mine, see I’m a whole different breed of person, I dont believe in ignorin problems and leavin them to worsen”.

8. We Can Fly: Originally I was turned off…weird beat and just too wacky of a song for me. But Tunji’s opening monologue is nice. “Cooler than the other side of the pillow case, not goin out tonight Ima chill at home base, I spend a whole day tryna fill a whole page, cuz im picky bout the things that I will or wont say.” But then some weird reggae-ishness infests the middle of the track killing the song, and Tobe just doesn’t have enough to resuscitate it. Runner up for worst song.

9. HipHopSoul: What the hell, Tunji? Don’t you have a Clark Kent anywhere inside of you? This is a chick song but its off the chain. Tunji again…nevermind, you already know. The chorus is amateur R&Bish but catchy and not half bad for this type of song. Tobe gives it a good try then some singer (Noah King?) finishes it off.

10. Wanna Groove: I skip it. But my man thinks its alright. Check it out and if its your thing then enjoy! Its kinda fun just not my kinda thing.  I cant find Cindy Lauper anywhere in the credits, but this joint sounds like something she would be in.

11. Sunnycalifornia: This song makes me feel like theres not a problem in the world. Another ode to the golden state, and done just as well. When I listen to this track I feel like I just got outta work in the summer and its time to get fucked up cuz there aint shit to do tomorrow. This track and “Til The End” sell Cali better than anything since the discovery of gold. Fav line: “Tobe’s gonna catch me if I ever spit a wrong verse” ~Tunji. I just love the partnership these two share (no homo). They have such chemistry and are havin a blast makin these songs, you can hear it in the finished product.

12. Look Around: Unfair that Tunji gets the ill part of the beat without the fairydust, but once again he outshines Tobe here. The beat is quite bad in the begining actually. However, by the time the chorus is done and Tunji is up to bat the beat is much better/deeper/thoughtful. Ends up bein a decent track.

13. All My Tomorrows: Real nice chipmunk sample here complimented with some cymbal crashes. I was gonna say this song is in the top 3, but then I remembered how many other great songs there were, plus the grand finale. It sounds like I dont like Tobe much, because Tunji is so good. But he is actually an excellent co-star and they do feed of eachother a lot. Haha I am running out of things to say now. This is one of the best songs and I’m talkin about their chemistry instead of breakin down the elements. Just listen for yourself, you dont need me to tell you why this track is dope.

14. One Step: I love wind instrument samples. Well I only have one other song in mind right now with a flute(?) sample in it that I really like, but listen to this shit. And why is Inverse so amazing? I mean you basically just heard a collection of 5 star songs (with the exception of a few), and just when you thought you made it to the end this track sucks you back in and smacks you in the face. It is the late climax of the album. Its exhausting to hear so many dope tracks in one sitting, yet its so refreshing!. And to finally release some of that tension you built up, the end of this track has a funny karaoke moment reassuring us that they had a blast making this album. Hiphop is fun again.

November 20, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. […] check my REVIEW and download the So Far mixtape if you know nothing about […]

    Pingback by Inverse - So True « I don’t wanna ill | December 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

